Skip to content

My first line featured on Page One of Poets & Writers

April 20, 2009

Just received my copy of Poets & Writers Magazine and to my delight I found the first line of my book included in “Page One,” their round up of “New and Noteworthy Books”  which actually appears on page 14 of May/June 2009 issue.  Year after year I have  read this roundup and dreamed about my own first line.  Honestly, I never thought it would be: ” Carmen was awakened by the loud sound of a masculine voice in Spanish as the clock radio clicked on.”  This is from my story “A Matter of Opinion”–one of the first stories about Marielitos that I ever wrote.  It works well as the first piece in the collection because Carmen resists the Miami-Cuban resentment of Marielitos rampant at the time.

I also want to take an opportunity to say that I found my publisher through the Poets & Writers site–it’s very helpful and easy to navigate.  One of the best things was finding that many publishers accept electronic submissions–no need to print huge manuscripts or stand in line at the post office!  I encourage others looking for places to send their manuscripts to visit that site.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

