Skip to content

My contribution to “Writers Recommend”

May 22, 2009

Below is the link to my piece for the online Poets & Writers feature “Writers Recommend”–I had to limit myself to 100 words and it was very very difficult, especially since there are so many books I love, reread and teach time and time again.  This year I taught some all time favorites including: Maxine Hong Kingston’s Woman Warrior, Julia Alvarez’s In the Time of Butterflies, a compilation of Lucille Clifton’s poems–Blessing of the Boats, Tato Laviera’s AmeRican, and a new favorite Carlos Erie’s award-winning memoir Waiting for Snow in Havana. 

My task in this piece was to  say something about how I find inspiration and my first impulse was to just say people.  I know some great story tellers, or as Kingston refers to those gifted people who “talk-story.”  Here goes the column that went online May 20.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

