Skip to content

Report from the mountain–Bread Loaf

August 17, 2009

Dear reader (here’s an s in case there’s more than one of you):

This is the most amazing experience.  Being a Fellow here, working with Ann Hood, meeting all the other Fellows, faculty, agents and editors visiting here–all this is so wonderful.  I gush because it is appropriate to do so.  Everyone has been so friendly, so supportive and encouraging.  I signed my first copy of my book here and I look forward to my reading on the 19th.

I am indebted to Julia Alvarez for nominating me and I was able to thank her in person on Friday when she came up the mountain to visit.  She is one of the most generous, sweetest people I’ve ever met.  Gracias, Julia and bless you!

I will write more about this but just know, dear reader that I am so very happy to be here.  Oh, and I finally have an Amazon author page, at last!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2009 4:41 am

    Hi Cecilia,

    I came across your blog tonight and wanted to say hi. I’m starting my MFA in fiction at The New School in a few weeks and am looking forward to Ann Hood’s class there (my fiction workshop). It sounds like Breadloaf was a great experience, and congratulations on Marieltos, Balseros and other Exiles!

    • Cecilia Rodríguez Milanés permalink*
      August 18, 2009 5:28 pm

      Hi there,
      You will LOVE ann Hood. To be perfectly honest, this is the way she starts a lot of her conversations ; )–she is an amazing teacher. I am learning so much from her; I wish I could go back to school to take classes with her. Lucky you! And thank you!

Leave a Reply

