Skip to content

Report from the mountain–part three

August 21, 2009

Yesterday I had the pleasure and honor of reading/performing with a talented poet, Matthew Dickman, author of All-American Poem, and wonderful novelist Ann Hood–my faculty mentor here at Bread Loaf and author of The Knitting Circle and Comfort, a memoir about grief.

Time to celebrate!

Time to celebrate!

I was given twenty minutes and I decided to read three pieces from my book, Marielitos, Balseros and Other Exiles.  Just prior to the reading, I attended a craft class on performance led by poet Stephanie Brown and it was so helpful because I changed the order of my selection.  She suggested we start with an introductory piece, a longer one in the middle and end on a positive note.  It made SO MUCH sense and as a result I read “Failed Secrets” first; excerpts from “Beast of Burden” and finished off with the crowd-pleaser “Muchacha (After Jamaica).” 

I was very happy that I spent much of the day rehearsing because I believe it paid off with a solid performance.  I was approached by many from the audience, that evening and today too, with congratulations. 

Good news!  You will be able to download the reading from I-Tunes–stay tuned (sorry I couldn’t help myself) for more details.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

