Skip to content

Update–stuff

September 17, 2009
Signing my book for Eduardo Corrales

Signing my book for Eduardo Corrales

Hello there!  It’s been a while since I’ve posted–school, family, stuff etc. keeps me pretty busy but I am ecstatic to report that I have returned to writing/revising.  I have set a goal of completing the novel manuscript by the end of the month and handing it over to a wonderful friend/reader.  I hope to send it around to agents not long after that.

In other news: 

Yesterday morning I was interviewed by my dear friend and colleague Kevin Meehan; he asked, as I can expect from him, such thoughtful and interesting questions.  The time flew by and I couldn’t believe we went through three pages of questions.  He hopes to submit the interview to a scholarly journal like MELUS or Callaloo.  If anyone of you have other suggestions, please drop me a line or post a comment.

Earlier this week I met with the coordinator of a new book festival that will be hosted by the University of Central Florida on April 17, 2009.  I gave him many suggestions for writers, particularly several of wonderful folks I had the pleasure of meeting at Bread Loaf in August.  Ann Hood has been invited and agreed to attend–yea!.

Finally, for any local Orlando folks, remember that I have a reading/ booksigning at the UCF main campus bookstore on Wednesday, September 23rd at 1:00 p.m.  Free bookmarks for everyone!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Tyler Fisher permalink
    October 30, 2009 8:42 am

    ¡Felicidades, Cecilia!

    Perhaps ‘Voces del Caribe’ would be interested in the interview:

    Un saludo a través de la distancia,
    Tyler

    • Cecilia Rodríguez Milanés permalink*
      October 30, 2009 12:28 pm

      Hi, Tyler!

      Where are you? I’ll tell Kevin about Voces. We’re going to perform next Friday in Baltimore–music and spoken word. It’s very exciting. His book was just published and the book launch party will be in DC in conjunction with the American Studies Association.

      Drop me a line and tell what you’ve been up to, ok?

      Cecilia

      • Cecilia Rodríguez Milanés permalink*
        January 1, 2010 5:54 pm

        Hello there and thank you,
        I wrote “Muchacha (After Jamaica)” after reading Jamaica Kincaid’s story “Girl” from her collection At the Bottom of the River. I was so moved by her story and “heard” all these sayings that my mother and other Latinas in my life had said to me growing up and so I felt compelled to write my own version and that’s how “Muchacha” came about. It follows her structure closely but culturally it’s about what a Caribeña would hear growing up to be a decent girl.
        Hope this helps you in your presentation. let me know how it goes, ok?

Leave a Reply

