Skip to content

Michigan State University’s FemRhet Conference

October 6, 2009
Malea Powell invited me to join an amazing group of scholars, activists and artists.

Malea Powell invited me to join an amazing group of scholars, activists and artists.

I’m off to Lansing tomorrow to participate in the FemRhet Conference at Michigan State University.  My plenary presentation will combine fiction, memoir, cultural criticism and pop culture.  How’s that for un arroz con mango?

The title of my presentation is “‘My English is Not Very Good Looking’–Accents and Identities.”  I will discuss ways in which we use and abuse accents to perform our identities.  Actually, it is way more fun than it sounds–there will even be salsa music.  I’ll tell you how it goes–425 people have registered for the conference.  Talk about a captive audience!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

