Skip to content

Next stop, Rock Hill, South Carolina

October 11, 2009
Messing around with the camera

Messing around with the camera

FemRhet 2009 was a great experience.  Every single panel I attended was illuminating and impressive.  The speakers included lots of my dear friends from CCCC–folks I’ve known for many years.   Two people I’ve met in the last year at the Latino/a Caucus business meeting are Alexandra Hidalgo and Cristina D. Ramirez.  Alex presented on her new documentary about plastic surgery in Venezuela and Cristina talked about her work on Mexican women writers of the late 1800s and early 1900s.  Fascinating and important work–check out their beautiful webpages for more information on these projects as well as others.

 

My talk, “‘My English is Not Very Good Looking’–Accents and Identities,” was a cross genre presentation including a little music, some cultural criticism, memoir and fiction, was very well received.  Thanks to Malea Powell for her support and for inviting me. 

Next stop is Rock Hill, South Carolina where I will be reading on Thursday evening at the Bookworm Bookstore on the campus of Wintrhop University.  Annie Laurie Wheat, my once and always neighbor, will have me speaking to her classes on Friday as well as with a Senior group in the community. 

Just before my talk at the Kellogg Center
Just before my talk at the Kellogg Center
One Comment leave one →
  1. October 13, 2009 8:00 am

    Wow! Estas Acabando! Great job Cecilia! Echa Pa’ Lante!!

Leave a Reply

