Skip to content

Catching up

February 2, 2010

Hello all,

I’ve been getting adjusted to my new work schedule but I’ve continued on my writerly journey.  Last week I met with a lovely group in East Orlando–Books, Friends and Food.  They chose my collection for their January discussion and they were all so interesting and interested.  One of the things that has happened to me a few times already in the last year of my readings and presentations is that I always meet someone who has worked with Marielitos somewhere outside of Florida.  At the BFF meeting, one woman, a former nurse, spoke of her experience at Marielito camp somewhere in the Pacific Northwest.  I’ve heard stories of lawyers, social workers and others who’ve worked with Marielitos all over the US.  Thanks to Grace and her members for their gracious invitation and generosity.

Another exciting thing that happened last week is that my book was featured as one of the “best of 2009” in the window of the campus Barnes and Noble bookstore.  Imagine my thrill at seeing my little book on its own little shelf–priceless! 

I will also be presenting to students at Miami Dade College’s Hialeah campus later in the day.  Check back for details but I know it will start at noon and this event is free and open to the public.

Painting by a student

José Martí--painting by student

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

