Skip to content

Recent visit to Miami

February 13, 2010

Returned last night from a full day of performance in Miami.  First, I presented my poem “Cuban American Manifesto,” accompanied byKevin Meehan on guitar and the story “Muchacha (After Jamaica)” at the Cuban  Research Institute Conference held at the Graham Center at Florida International University.   It’s been years since I was on that campus and was amazed at all the new beautiful buildings–FIU has come a very long way since the days of just three or four main buildings and library.  It was a great panel including my UCF colleague Luis Mart¡nez-Fernández and Eva Silot Bravo from UM. 

Soon after our panel at FIU, we had to get up to Hialeah to the Miami Dade College campus there.  My dear friend, Ivonne Lamazares, author of the beautiful novel, The Sugar Island, invited to present at a celebration of their award-winning Café Cultura, the campus literary journal.  Several of Ivonne’s students had read and discussed my story “A Matter of Opinion,” the first story in the collection.  It is actually the first story of the Marielito series I ever wrote and I hadn’t performed/read it in many years so it was a little scary to present but I’m happy to report that it worked out really well. 

Thanks to all for their kind reception and comments.  I’ll update this with photos soon.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

