Skip to content

Book clubs are the best.

March 11, 2010

I want to thank Liz for inviting me to her book club–and gratefully acknowledge Claire for suggesting my book in the first place.  A big thank you to all of the members for their attentiveness and gracious support, especially Beth who hosted us in her beautiful house.  It was such a pleasure to meet with avid readers and talk about the stories, the characters, and the context surrounding these.  There were great questions, tremendous enthusiasm, delightful refreshments and I am ever so grateful for the opportunity. 

This was the third book group I’ve had the good fortune to visit in Orlando.  Visiting book groups just might be one of my favorite things to do.  If you are in a book group in the Orlando area, and are interested, please do drop me a line.  If you want to meet me, I’ll be performing spoken word/poetry to music on Saturday, April 24 at the Orange County Public Library–downtown–at 11:30 a.m.  I will be reading a piece from the collection along with poems from my Cuban Suite Series.  Conjunto Kimbombo will be providing the wonderful musical background to my performance.  Check the Events tab for more details on this and other upcoming presentations/readings.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

