Skip to content

Blessings

April 2, 2010

Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne

First, a big thank you to George Kalamaras and Mary Ann Cain, for inviting to Indiana University of Purdue at Fort Wayne.  I couldn’t have asked for better weather–sunny, lovely, crocuses! daffodils and forsythia, oh my!  Had a long lovely walk with Bootsie and Mary Ann and I was super well taken care of–delicious meals, great conversation and it was a wonderful time.  I appreciate all who turned out for the reading on Wednesday as well as those who came to the workshop.  Many many thanks.

 I wish you all a blessed weekend; for the folks who celebrate it, Happy happy easter! This year I am especially blessed and have much to celebrate.  I won the Longleaf Press Chapbook Prize and my chapbook, Everyday Chica, will be published in the fall!  I just learned last week but I am still on cloud nine.  I will share more details as they materialize.

My last road trip of the spring starts Easter Monday; I’m off to my old stomping grounds in New Jersey.  Will be on a panel marking the 30th anniversary of the Mariel Boatlift; I’ll be reading from my book.  It’s free and open to the public.  Check the Calendar of Events tab for details.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2010 1:09 am

    Hi! Congratulations on winning the Longleaf. I found out tonight I had been one of the finalists and wanted to pass on my best wishes to you and your work.
    Regards.
    Bunny Goodjohn

    • Cecilia Rodríguez Milanés permalink*
      April 24, 2010 11:14 am

      Thank you so much Bunny! And congrats to you on your making it to the finalists’ cut. Keeping submitting!

Leave a Reply

