Skip to content

Back from NYC

April 9, 2010
Random Breadloaf Reunion
Marie Mockett in NYC

I guess I love New York because I grew up in New Jersey . . . I’m just saying.  But, more likely because it’s the greatest city in the world.  The shopping, the diversity of humanity, the architecture, the food, the theatre, the freaking attitude!  Ok, enough gushing. 

Wouldn’t you know it that I bumped into a Breadloaf friend as soon as I came up out of the subway?  I immediately recognized Marie Mockett, author of the newly published novel Picking Bones From Ash (Graywolf Press).  A lovely and talented writer–check her out!
The presentation at Drew University in Madison, NJ was extremely enlightening.  Thanks again for Raúl Rosales for putting us–Mirta Ojito, author of the wonderful memoir Finding Mañana, Katrin Hasing, anthropologist from Baruch College and director of the documentary Freddy Ilanga: Che’s Swahili Translator, and me–together.  Raúl’s motivation for the panel is the 30 year anniversary of the Mariel Boatlift; he’s teaching a seminar on the Mariel Generation and his paper on the writers of this generation was fabulous.  Mirta read a bit from her memoir and then spoke about the historical circumstances prompting the boatlift.  Katrin gave a fascinating paper on religious practices in Miami Post-Mariel–I took copius notes throughout the presentations.  I read from “A Matter of Opinion,” the first story in my collection and the one that nicely lays out the setting of Miami and the sentiments of Miami-Cubans regarding Marielitos in the early 1980s.
Well, folks, it’s crunch time for me–end of the semester, birthdays for me and my daughter, wedding anniversary and tax day–all within two weeks.  If you don’t hear back from me, I’m probably underneath a stack of student papers. 
 Here’s a reminder about the UCF Book Festival–free and open to the public–Saturday, April 17th.  Another mini-Breadloaf reunion too–Ann Hood, author of the forthcoming The Red Thread and Ru Freeman, author of A Disobedient Girl, will join me in Orlando.  Check the schedule and join us!
2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2010 3:41 am

    Ah, new york- love that place! Glad you were there and that your book is doing so well! yahoo!

    • Cecilia Rodríguez Milanés permalink*
      April 12, 2010 3:03 pm

      Thanks so much.

Leave a Reply

