Skip to content

Poets & Writers Magazine

July 7, 2010

Poets & Writers, how do I love thee?  Well, generally I do love poets and writers but in this case I’m referring to the magazine.

 July/August 2010 cover

I am cutting and pasting here their mission statement:

Poets & Writers believes in contemporary literature’s indispensable value to our national culture. Founded in 1970, the organization’s mission is to foster the professional development of poets and writers, to promote communication throughout the literary community, and to help create an environment in which literature can be appreciated by the widest possible public.

P&W accomplishes this by publishing Poets & Writers Magazine, producing pw.org, providing publishing information, introducing emerging writers outside of New York to the New York City literary community, and paying fees to writers participating in public literary events. P&W’s programs introduce writers to the larger literary community and connect them to audiences, making today’s writing visible and accessible in major cities and small towns across the country.

I’ve been subscribing to the magazine for many years (they’ve been publishing since 1970) but it’s only in the last few years that I’ve become a frequent visitor to their website www.pw.org.  This is my favorite site for all things writerly–so much that I won’t even try to describe it; just go there!

 The magazine always includes wonderful interviews like this issue’s “Pulse, Clock, Calendar,” about C.K. Williams–I’ve saved many issues along the years for their insightful and thoughtful interviews with lots of  my favorite authors like Sandra Cisneros, Rita Dove, et al.   

P & W is also super supportive of independent presses as seen in their feature “First Fiction” where my publisher Ig, is noted for its attention to “literary fiction from writers who have been overlooked by the mainstream publishing establishment, including Cecilia Rodríguez Milanés (Marielitos, Balseros and Other Exiles)” (page 41). 

Plus Poets & Writers has been very lucky for me.  I found Ig through their website and I saw the call for submissions from Longleaf Press (the publisher of my forthcoming chapbook)  in their magazine.   To conclude, I love Poets & Writers, the magazine and the site (and the authors too).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

