Skip to content

Ready to Skype!

December 1, 2010

Ok, I know it has been around for years but I just got around to getting a webcam for my desktop and am very excited about talking with/to readers with Skype. 

I already had a Skype session with Dr. Guadalupe Garcia’s graduate class at Tulane University this summer; they had read Marielitos, Balseros and Other Exiles and had lots of interesting questions. 

Soon I hope to be virtually visiting with Dr. José Irizarry’s class at the University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez. 

And I can Skype with you, dear reader, if you are so inclined.  Post a comment and when you’d like to set up a session.  Of course, I’m always happy to visit with book clubs and classes and I’m more three-dimensional in person.

Marielitos,

Balseros

and Other

Exiles

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Adora Shahriman permalink
    December 14, 2010 5:33 pm

    I probably cant fit into the reader’s club because i have yet read the book and i am looking forward to. but i really want to know about the different generations of cuban exiles of how each generation express themselves, within their domestic life in America. I would like to know their inclined way of living, whether it is traumatizing, passive, or more active. I am an architecture student in London, and particularly interested on the pattern on the style they arrange their nostalgic everyday traces of Cuba. Hope i can skype with you so we can talk further about this. Hope to hear from you soon.

    • Cecilia Rodríguez Milanés permalink*
      December 29, 2010 5:05 pm

      Hello there,
      Hope you’ve had a chance to read some of the stories by now because I think they do provide a telling glance into the lives of Cuban exiles in America at various times since the 1960s. Tell me when you want to Skype and we’ll set it up. Happy new year!

Leave a Reply

