Skip to content

Southern Writers Symposium

March 4, 2011
Robin Greene, author of Latteral Drift and forthcoming Augustus

Robin Greene, author and Longleaf Press

The Southern Writers Symposium at Methodist University in Fayetteville,North Carolina was a great experience for me. There were so many fascinating writers and such a variety of styles!
Many thanks to Brenda Jernigan the symposium organizer and author of Every Good and Perfect Gift and also to all the volunteers and the gracious hospitality of my hosts who happen to be my Longleaf publishers, Robin Greene and Michael Colonnese.
One of the highlights of the Symposium was meeting author Lorraine López who I had heard a lot about from her UGA connections–Judith Ortiz Cofer and my former professor Barbara McCaskill.  Lorraine’s book, Homicide Survivors Picnic and Other Stories was a finalist for the 2010 PEN/Faulkner Award; she read the hilarious “Sugar Boots” from that collection. Check out her site for more information on her other books.
I read a great deal from Everyday Chica and was happy to be able to play some tracks from my forthcoming spoken word CD; soon, and very soon, they’ll be read. I will post about that next week when I finally have them in my hands; you will be able to purchase them from Amazon and can get a package deal with the chapbook.
I’ll be on the road again next week, this time to a reading at the University of Georgia thanks to Judith Ortiz Cofer whose work has been a great inspiration to me and whose friendship is invaluable. Besides my reading, I’ll be visiting with Professor Channette Romero’s students at UGA. That is something I really enjoy and always look forward to these opportunities.
Will report back with details and photos.
Southern Writers Symposium

Michael Colonnese, editor of Longleaf Press and author

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

