Skip to content

Skype Session with Ms. Oldham’s students–updated

March 8, 2011

Just had a great time Skyping with Ms. Holly Oldham’s 8th graders from a school near Atlanta, Georgia.  Heard some great stories from several students including

Rhane, Amanda, Kayla, Asia, Adrianna, Diana, Mindy, Kymani, Glen, Evan, Sada-Ann and Khaliyah–(Hey, I’m missing names–post here so everyone can be included! You made my day.  Ms. Oldham said she’d send me photo of the class and I’ll upload it as soon as I get it.)

They read Jamaica Kincaid’s “Girl” and my “Muchacha” and came up with their own funny and touching versions, some of these included “Flaka” and “Young Padawan.”  BRAVO Y’ALL!   I was mightily impressed.

Puchi trying to get in the photo

Puchi--the "good" one

 

I thoroughly enjoyed their questions and the time we had together.  I even brought in my dogs to “meet” the students after one of their stories included a dog named Puchi (Poochie?) and I introduced my Puchi.  Thank you so much to Holly for contacting me.  We met at NCTE in Orlando in November and she remembered I was going to Georgia to do a reading and while we couldn’t work it out for me to be at her school, we used Skype to allow me to be there anyway. 

The little one, Shifu

Shifu--mixed Corgi and Spitz

 Hope to have more Skype sessions because it was so much fun and so easy.  Here’s to the technical innovations that create communication and connection!

24 Comments leave one →
  1. Holly permalink
    March 9, 2011 2:55 am

    We had so much fun with you today! Thanks for taking the time to chat with us, and especially for encouraging the students in their writing. I will let them write to you separately, but just know that you inspired many young authors today.

    Oh, and don’t even tempt us with more Skyping. You won’t be able to leave home without your webcam. 🙂

  2. Asia Nabors permalink
    March 9, 2011 2:57 pm

    Hi i just want to thank you for skyping with us! i think you are so amazing.!
    oh and thank you for listenig to my poem. 🙂

  3. Adrianna Torres permalink
    March 9, 2011 2:58 pm

    Hi my name is adrianna and i read “Flaka”.
    Hope you have a food day. (:
    and by the wayy your dogs are so cute, i have one named cookiee and a fish named panchito ahaha . (:
    bye.

    • March 10, 2011 7:49 pm

      You will not believe this but I had a dog named Kuki!! She was a beautiful red chow chow with the purple tongue and a huge mane of hair like a lion. She was gorgeous but sort of mean; she only liked my husband and only tolerated me ; )

      I loved your piece “Flaka”–keep writing!

  4. Khaliyah Clemons permalink
    March 9, 2011 2:58 pm

    Hey!! I was one of the students from Ms. Oldham’s class who read my story. Oo and I love your book!!!

    • March 10, 2011 7:50 pm

      Thank you so much Khaliyah–you did a great job with your story and performing it too.

  5. Glen Campbell permalink
    March 9, 2011 3:00 pm

    This was a great Classroom to Author interview and chat Mrs. Oldhams class hope’s to see you again sometime

    • March 10, 2011 7:50 pm

      I also hope to “see” you all sometime; maybe next time in person!

  6. Amanda Iwuogo permalink
    March 9, 2011 3:01 pm

    Dear Mrs.Cecilia Rodríguez Milanés ,
    I just want to say thank you so much for yesterday it was a blast .
    You told me everything I needed to know to achieve my goals in the future. I’m really glad that we got the oppurtunity to communicate with you. That was my first time talking to a famous author. People like you help kids succeed in the future.One day you’ll see my book out in the world !
    Thanksss so much again !
    Sincerly ,
    Amanda Iwuogo

    • March 10, 2011 7:55 pm

      Hi, Amanda,

      I want to encourage you to keep writing and be persistent sending your very best work out into the world; we need to hear your stories. Besides writing everyday, read a lot. This way you can get inspiration from how other writers tackle particular themes, use different styles and forms and create memorable work. I am by no means a “famous author” though I appreciate your lovely vote of confidence : ) Thanks for your note and for being so attentive. I wish you the best of luck; you already have the talent.

  7. kymani permalink
    March 9, 2011 3:03 pm

    hi my name is kymani if you could post my name i was the one who read the poem young patawan

    • March 10, 2011 7:56 pm

      That was a great story Kymani; it was funny and sweet and touching. Well done!

  8. rhane permalink
    March 9, 2011 3:06 pm

    Hi, thanks for skyping us yesterday. it was lots of fun(and it saved us from starting anne frank).

    • March 10, 2011 7:59 pm

      Hey, Rhane (cool name by the way),

      Thanks for your note; it was great fun for me. And I think the Diary of Anne Frank is not just an important book; it’s a well written one too. In my Latino/a Literature class, I just finished teaching a book of poems that were a response to her diary; Dear Anne Frank: Poems by Marjorie Agosin. You should check it out after you finish with the diary. Good luck and thanks again.

  9. Mindy Bowden permalink
    March 9, 2011 3:09 pm

    Hi Cecilia, I’m one of the students who read in Ms. Oldham’s class. I think you are an amazing author and I would like to help you by creating a YouTube video about your books. Contact me if you want 🙂

    • March 10, 2011 8:00 pm

      Oh, Mindy, I am SO GOING TO CONTACT YOU! I heard you are a pretty awesome poet and working on getting your performance together with music. Thanks for sharing your work and for your most generous offer : )

  10. Sada-Ann Elizabeth Cox-Leconte permalink
    March 9, 2011 3:09 pm

    Hi!I am one of Ms.Oldham’s students that you skyped with on monday. Unfortunatley i did not have time to share what I wrote with you that was modeled after Muchacha. Therefore I have copyed it into this comment for you to read.I hope you enjoy it!
    This is how you say no to a boy that is older than you; this is how you say no to a boy that likes you; this is how you say no to a boy that you don’t like; BUT WHAT IF I LIKE THEM?;then this is how you say no to the boys that I don’t like; this is how you wash stains out of shirts; this is how you fold clothes; this is how to fix a car without a man’s help; why don’t I need a man’s help?; because men are good for nothing except having children; EWW!; this is how you put on all your makeup; this is how to hide your feelings; this is how you make yourself look perfect even when you feel terrible; this is how to do your hair; this is how you hold a baby; this is how annoying a baby is; now you had better not get pregnant; this is how to act mature; this is how to be successful; this is how you make something of yourself in life; this is how you make me proud.
    Thankyou for your time and skyping with us on Monday. You’re a really talented author and an inspiration for me.

    • March 10, 2011 8:01 pm

      Hi, Sada-Ann,
      Thanks so much for posting your story which I love! Please keep writing; I look forward to reading more of your work.

  11. Kayla Hunter permalink
    March 9, 2011 3:10 pm

    Thank you for including me in your blog. (: You’re the best author EVER! And I lovee you <3. Muchacha is my favorite overall WRITING ever!You inspire me and I want too be just like you(:
    My favorite part was the culo(: Hahhaha, I had to read it to the class and everyone was laughing! Your the Best/Prettiest person I ever met (or skyped with) and you're soooo niceee!!

    Bye see you soon hopefully,
    Kayla

    • March 10, 2011 8:04 pm

      Hi, Kayla,

      The truth is that the line you mentioned is one of my favorite lines too : ) Sometimes mothers (and parents) tell us ridiculous things and this was something I heard my mother say that I thought was crazy but the older I get, the more I think she had something important to say by that. And, Kayla, you have a great spirit and I would love to see/hear more of your writing soon!

  12. Diana Pinon permalink
    March 9, 2011 3:18 pm

    thank you for that wonderfull time i thank you for
    taking time off of your day and talking to our class
    muchas crasias 🙂

    • March 10, 2011 8:05 pm

      Hi, Diana,
      I thoroughly enjoyed spending time with you and your classmates. Thank YOU for being such a great group. Keep writing, ok?

Leave a Reply

