Skip to content

Visiting Cuba

August 12, 2011
Playas del este
This is the beach where my parents met

I just returned from 8 days in Cuba; it was wonderful and amazing and often sad.  My brother Danny accompanied me; he hadn’t been to Cuba since 1979 when we went with our parents–to meet our grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins and assorted relatives.  I returned in 1999 to attend a conference at Casa de las Americas; that time my mother went with me.  This time my purpose was to visit the Centro Iberoamericano Para El Estudio de la Decima.

My other goal was to make sure my brother had a great time and reconnect with him and with our remaining cousins and tios.  Both goals were accomplished and with happy success.
Little by little, I’ll be uploading photos here–I took over 2,000–and sharing tidbits from the trip.  For example, on Wednesday, August 3, we went to the beach where my parents met in 1958.  So, this is the place where it all began!
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

