Skip to content

AWP report, part 1

March 5, 2012
AWP panel "Beyond Bilingualism"

María and I at our "Beyond Bilingualism" panel at AWP in Chicago

Just returned from Chicago and the Associated Writing Programs Conference and it was soooooooo impressive.  I hadn’t been to one in many years and I am going to make it a habit of returning every year. I was on a panel coordinated by poet/memoirist Mia Leonin, faculty at my alma mater, University of Miami.  She asked me to participate on “Beyond Bilingualism: Teaching Creative Writing to Monolingual and Multilingual Students,”  along with her students Mariam Zafar and Nicole Hospital-Medina.  I asked María Elvira Vera Tatá to speak about her Honors in the Major Creative Writing thesis, a wonderful (and already award-winning) novella written with a great deal of untranslated Spanish.  It was a great session and we had really interesting questions and productive conversation in the Q & A.  Well done!  And many thanks to Mia for thinking of me for this panel.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

