Skip to content

AWP, McNair Scholars Reading y más

April 10, 2012
At the downtown Orange County Public Library

Reading something old and something new

Hello all, 

Yea, I meant to write more about AWP because it really was awesome and I am still reaping the excitement I experienced there by encouraging my students to submit proposals and have already met with a couple to plan on some sessions.  I hope to get to AWP in Boston next year and every year after.  But got overwhelmed with work.  

April, besides being National Poetry Month, is also a very very busy one in my family.  We have several birthdays, including mine and my daughter’s, a week apart with my wedding anniversary in between.  Tax day is also very stressful because my significant other prepares ours and others’.  Plus it is the end of the spring semester when all papers are due, final exams etc.  Crazy times, we try to get through without too much fallout. 

But that being said, I have managed to get in some writing and am happy to report that I finished a new story and will be sending it out soon; it’s called “Love and Punishment at the Clerk of the County Courts Office,” set in suburban Orlando.  I’ll let you know how it is received.  I actually debuted it at a reading for the UCF McNair Scholars on the day I finished it–nothing like a deadline to get me going.  

Wanda Raimundi-Ortiz, performance artist, poet and moreSo, in honor of National Poetry Month I had a reading at the Orange County Public Library, downtown branch where I was happy to perform after the wonderfully talented Wanda Raimundi-Ortiz.  I know I have sung her praises before but if you haven’t already done so, check her out on YouTube and/or Facebook; I know you’ll become a fan.

Happy April all!  Read a poem or two; heck buy a book of poetry!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

